Happy Thanksgiving

This Thanksgiving, with such horrible things happening to our First Nations siblings, I found a story that brings me hope, reminds us of our history of solidarity and fighting for liberation, the land, and what is right. I put together this video that tells the story of the first settlement in the United States, 100 years before the pilgrims, a cultural connection that actually initiated contact between people of African descent and First Nations people of the United States almost 500 years ago.

img_2581

you can watch the video just below, or check it out on Blavity: http://blavity.com/thanksgiving-a-story-of-solidarity

We spent this Thanksgiving in Miami with my (Nastassja’s) family.

img_2602

My mom asked that we forage some flowers and greenery for a Thanksgiving bouquet that reflected our local tropical biome, so we went for a nice long walk around the neighborhood noticing and picking out some very special plants and flowers.

img_2606img_2619

Then we walked along the beach to my mom’s place. img_2632

This Thanksgiving I made the dessert – my specialty Pecan Pie! Instead of using corn syrup, I use agave and honey – plus a little vanilla bourbon.

My mom (with some of our help – but mostly her!) made us a feast. And there is our foraged bouquet in the middle! We had cornish hens, with cranberry & mushroom stuffing, mac and cheese, risotto, a whole salmon with peppers and carrots, a huge beautiful salad with asparagus, pumpkin seeds and a tahini dressing, sweet potatoes, biscuits, and gravy.

img_2678

You would have thought we were feeding a dozen people instead of 4! But the left overs have been fantastic so I’m not complaining.

img_2698
From left to right Keith (my mom’s partner), Me, Angel (my mom), and Lea (my fiancée)

img_2700img_2719img_2686

Leave a Reply

